Schengen Visa: Do I Need One?

Schengen visa is a visa that allows the citizens of most countries to enter any of the Schengen areas. The visa can be issued by any of the Schengen countries. Some countries can enter the Schengen area visa-free while some cannot. Are you wondering if you need a visa to enter the Schengen area or not? You have your answers below.

Schengen Visa Types

There are four types of Schengen visa, A, B, C and D.
The uniform Schengen visa falls in the visa type A and C. It allows you to enter the Schengen area for up to 90 days within a 6-month period. The visa type B is for those visiting the Schengen area for less than 5 days. The visa type D is for a long stay for those visiting Schengen area for work or study.

Those Who Need a Schengen Visa

Citizens of the following countries are required to get a visa in order to enter the Schengen areas:

Afghanistan Gabon Oman
Algeria Gambia Pakistan
Angola Ghana Papua New Guinea
Armenia Guinea Palestinian Authority
Azerbaijan Guinea-Bissau Philippines
Bahrain Guyana Qatar
Bangladesh Haiti Russia
Belarus India Rwanda
Belize Indonesia Sao Tome And Principe
Benin Iran Saudi Arabia
Bhutan Iraq Senegal
Bolivia Jamaica Sierra Leone
Botswana Jordan Somalia
Burkina Faso Kazakhstan South Africa
Burma/Myanmar Kenya South Sudan
Burundi Kosovo Sri Lanka
Cambodia Kuwait Sudan
Cameroon Kyrgyzstan Suriname
Cape Verde Laos Swaziland
Central African Republic Lebanon Syria
Chad Lesotho Tajikistan
China Liberia Tanzania
Comoros Libya Thailand
Congo Madagascar Timor-Leste
Cote D’ivoire Malawi Togo
Cuba Maldives Tonga
Dem. Rep. Of Congo Mali Tunisia
Djibouti Mauritania Turkey
Dominican Republic Mongolia Turkmenistan
Ecuador Morocco Uganda
Egypt Mozambique Uzbekistan
Equatorial Guinea Namibia Vietnam
Eritrea Nepal Yemen
Ethiopia Niger Zambia
Fiji Nigeria Zimbabwe
North Korea Northern Mariana’s

Those Who Need Airport Transit Visa

Citizens of some countries are required to obtain an airport transit visa in order to change the airplane at an airport in a Schengen Area country. The countries below need Airport transit visa in order to enter the other Schengen areas.

Afghanistan Bangladesh Congo (Drc)
Eritrea Ethiopia Ghana
Iran Iraq Yemen
Ethiopia Niger Nigeria
Pakistan Somalia Sri Lanka

In some cases, the Airport Transit Visa may be wavered for some individuals, if:
If the individual is a holder of residency permit from a Schengen member country, a valid Schengen Visa for short stays or long stays.
If the individual is a holder of residency permit from countries such as, Andorra, Canada, Japan, San Marino or the USA with a guarantee of the individual’s movement.
If the individual is a holder of Schengen visa or a valid visa for entering one of the EFTA countries as well as Canada, Japan or the United States, even if they are returning from those certain countries after using this visa.
If the individual has a close family member who is an EU citizen.
If the individual is a holder of a diplomatic passport.

Those Who Do NOT Need A Schengen Visa

Citizens of the following countries are not required to obtain a visa in order to enter any member country of the Schengen Area for tourism or business purposes:

Albania Andorra Antigua and Barbuda
Argentina Australia Bahamas
Barbados Bosnia and Herzegovina Brazil
Brunei Canada Chile
Colombia Costa Rica Dominica
El Salvador Georgia Grenada
Guatemala Holy See (Vatican City State) Honduras
Hong Kong S.A.R Israel Japan
Kiribati Macao S.A.R Malaysia
Marshall Islands Mauritius Mexico
Micronesia Moldova Monaco
Montenegro Nauru New Zealand
Nicaragua North Macedonia Palau
Panama Paraguay Peru
Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent
Samoa Serbia Seychelles
Singapore Solomon Islands South Korea
Taiwan Timor Leste Tonga
Trinidad and Tobago Tuvalu Ukraine
United Arab Emirates United States of America Uruguay
Vanuatu Venezuela  


Visa-free regime applies to citizens of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro and Serbia who are holders of biometric passports only.
The Visa-free regime is available for Taiwan whose passport contains an identity card number.
For Hong Kong, the Visa-free regime applies only to holders of a “Hong Kong Special Administrative Region” passport.
For Macau, the Visa-free regime applies only to holders of a “Região Administrativa Especial de Macau” passport.
The accepted number of days to enter the Schengen area is for at most 90 days within the period of 6 months. The Schengen visa entry does not transform to work or study visa.

Citizens of countries that are required to get a visa in order to travel to the Schengen area need to submit some documents before they are issued a visa.  The Schengen visa requirements are almost the same in the Schengen areas. If you only plan to visit just one country in the Schengen area, you must apply for your visa at the Consulate of the country you are visiting. However, if you plan to visit several Schengen countries, then you must apply for a visa at the Consulate of the country where you are going to stay for a longer period. If it turns out you are spending the same number of days in your countries of visit, then you will be required to apply for a visa at the Consulate of the country of your first point of entry.

Schengen visa requirements to process a visa:

  • Schengen visa application form (filled and signed)
  • Original passport (should not be older than 10 years and should be valid for at least 3 months beyond the date you will exit the Schengen area)
  • Copy of the visa/residence permit if applying in a third country.
  • Two recent passport sized photo (taken within the last 3 months)
  • Round trip flight reservation
  • Detailed hotel reservation
  • Proof of health insurance
  • Latest credit card statement
  • Latest bank statement
  • Original signed employment letter. If student, a letter from your school or college.
  • Self-addressed envelope if you are not picking up the passport in person
  • Bank money order for the visa fee
  • Schengen Travel Health Insurance
    Proof of paid visa fee

You should commence the Schengen visa application within 3 months to the date of entering the Schengen area. National of most countries will be required to apply for the visa in person and also go through interview with the consulate of the Schengen country to be visited.

Schengen Visa fee

The fee for Schengen visa may vary depending on the Consulate you are applying for a visa. You may find it at €60 or higher.  Once paid, the visa fee is non-refundable whether you are granted or denied a visa.